​Interview

So, after all the stress of getting my CV together and firing out applications… I got a response last week from the post I thought would be least likely to want me (I made a few mistakes on the application in my haste.) 

So. I have a job interview- on the other side of the country. 
O…M…G what the fuck do I do now? 
Well, have to take Other Half with me. He needs to see the place if we are going to potentially move there. So, petrol expenses and an overnight stay in a travel inn. Early breakfast, tour of the building then into the interview. Drive around the area then home. Work next day, same as always. 
In laws are looking after children and mad dalmatian pup, but a neighbour will have to walk the pup because mother in law’s hip is screwed up. 
I am bloody frightened. If I get the job its massive expense to move and I will have to uproot my entire family. Up sides it’s a mainland area and much better connections to facilities and has better funding. Should follow that there are better opportunities.

  

If I don’t get it, then I will go onto a lower wage in a few short months and we will be stuck in a place where there are very few prospects of promotion and my Other Half can’t get a part time job to make up the shortfall, because here are 40 people chasing every job here. 
Kinda feel I am damned if I do and damned if I don’t. If my flat does not sell and I start a new job in August halfway across the country, leaving my family behind and probably living in a barn somewhere to keep costs down. 
So yeah, probably fucked either way.
Is it wrong to feel terrified and excited at the same time? Can’t afford a new suit so I am tarting up an old dress and matching it with some new shoes I got cheap off ebay and have heels so high they should be used as torture devices. 
Why am I bothering? Well… if everything comes together, maybe, just maybe we can be in a better situation. If we do nothing, chances are I’ll have to get a second job and work even longer hours than I do now and never see my family. 
If I don’t get this job I’ll be fairly gutted and have already almost talked myself into failing. Yet, if I am not sutable then why are they inviting me to an interview when I live so far away? 

Guess I will soon find out. 

Leave a Reply

